I was going to call this post Soccer, but I realized I had a post with that name…

Hi Minions!

I’m doing soccer this year, but as some of my more devoted longer-reading readers might remember, I did a post about soccer camp a couple summers ago and was uncreative enough to call it “Soccer!!” As I was thinking of writing this post, the same name popped into my head. But because I didn’t want to recycle a name and I’m in the car driving my little brother to school, I asked his opinion on the matter. Here were his best ideas:

Naomi Soc-corn
Goal! A book about Naomi’s soccer.
Soccerty-Sock
Go Naomi! Go Naomi! Soccer!

As adorable as those are, they didn’t exactly convey what I was going for.

So anyway, as you probably have gathered, I’m doing soccer. (Go Jaguars!!!) I think our team is going to be really good. Our coach is trying to get us ready for our games, so practice is very tiring, but our start September 3rd and we have to be ready. That way we can totally pulverize the other teams. That’s the plan, anyway…

We haven’t gotten uniforms or positions or anything yet, but that doesn’t mean that we’re not working our butts off. We have practice every day after school from 4:00-6:30 on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays, and from 4:00-6:00 on Wednesdays and Fridays. (On Fridays, we have to do really well the rest of the week to get the 1/2 hour off.) We use absolutely every minute of practice.

Practices consists of running a timed mile, stretching, running up and down and up and down a hill, drills, jumping jacks, more running, more drills, and lots of sweating. We’re all completely sore, but it’s so fun!!

There have been some interesting things that have happened during practice. For example, the cheerleaders got in trouble the other day because we were louder than them when we were counting out our warm ups. I think we were louder because we had the prospect of wall-sits looming in our itinerary if we were unimpressive. Whatever the reason, it was kind of a triumphant moment for us soccer girls.

I’m almost at school now and I don’t want to have to come back to this post later so I’ll just end now even though it’s kind of short. I have an idea for a long post sometime but it’s still in the “should I write that?” Phase. I’ll keep you posted. (Haha yeah that’s a really bad pun.)

I will think of you all when I’m pouring out sweat later.

❤ Naomi

2 thoughts on “I was going to call this post Soccer, but I realized I had a post with that name…

Leave a Reply

